Braver Than We Are


Braver Than We Are is the thirteenth studio album by American singer Meat Loaf, released in Europe on September 9, 2016 by Caroline International S&D and scheduled to be released in the United States on September 16, 2016 by 429 Records.


Meat Loaf first announced that he had begun working with Jim Steinman again on The Jonathan Ross Show in April 2013. “We’ve been communicating back and forth for the last six months every day by email,” he explained to Jonathan Ross. At this time, Steinman was only contributing two songs to the album, though Meat Loaf was hoping he would contribute a third song. “We’ve cut three tracks, we’re getting ready to cut three more, and then we’ll hopefully cut three with Steinman.” He had planned to begin working with Steinman in January 2014, with an expected release of September later that year.

Ellen Foley and Karla DeVito were approached to record duets on the album. In September 2013, Meat Loaf told BroadwayWorld that he would—with Steinman’s approval—like to record duets with Bonnie Tyler and Lorraine Crosby as well.



“Loving You’s a Dirty Job” first appeared on Bonnie Tyler’s 1986 album Secret Dreams and Forbidden Fire. The song “More” first appeared on The Sisters of Mercy’s 1990 album Vision Thing. The album includes a reunion with vocalists Ellen Foley and Karla DeVito (vocalists from the studio and live versions “Paradise by the Dashboard Light”, respectively) on the song “Going All The Way Is Just the Start”. All songs can be traced back to earlier Jim Steinman projects such as his musicals The Dream Engine and Neverland of which also songs were used for early Meat Loaf albums.

A ‘Bonus Edition’ of the album, sold at various chains like Target, Tesco and Media Markt will contain 3 exclusive bonus tracks. The same tracks will be included in the Japanese edition.


The original title for the album was announced as Brave & Crazy, but was subsequently changed to Braver Than We Are, the title of a Jim Steinman composition which was rewritten and recorded for this album as “Going All the Way Is Just the Start”.


Release and promotion

Amazon users who pre-order the digital release of Braver Than We Are can download “Souvenirs” and “Train of Love” immediately. The majority of the album, minus “Skull of Your Country”, was accidentally leaked on Apple Music on June 22, 2016 and was subsequently taken down after several hours.



Track listing

Standard edition
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Who Needs the Young” Jim Steinman 5:27
2. “Going All the Way (A Song in 6 Movements)” (featuring Ellen Foley and Karla DeVito)
  • Steinman
  • Don Black
3. “Speaking in Tongues” (featuring Stacy Michelle) Steinman 4:23
4. “Loving You Is a Dirty Job (But Somebody’s Gotta Do It)” (featuring Stacy Michelle) Steinman 6:09
5. “Souvenirs” Steinman 8:17
6. “Only When I Feel” Steinman 1:56
7. “More”
  • Steinman
  • Andrew Eldritch
8. “Godz” Steinman 3:33
9. “Skull of Your Country” (featuring Cian Coey) Steinman 3:35
10. “Train of Love” Steinman 4:23
Total length: